Tor for Linux

Votes: 904

Tor, as it is known, is primarily used to provide anonymity while using the Internet, and to provide protection and safety of the user.

With Tor you can not only surf the Internet anonymously, but also use internet messaging, IRC, SSH, a variety of other software products that use the TCP protocol. A developer can make new applications on TCP platform. Anonymity and all the necessary elements for the privacy will be built in automatically. You will also be able to view those sites which, for one reason or another, have recently been "closed". Formalists of "Roskomnadzor" sometimes block individual sites, although they do not constitute a threat and contain a lot of useful information for the visitor of the Internet at the same time.

How is anonymity provided in Tor? Due to constant changes of connection inside the distributed network of servers. They are called onion routers. The path from the source to the destination when using Tor is not a straight line - it is much longer than with the usual connection. And this path is completely random, passes through several servers, thereby it is almost impossible to track the movement.

Moreover, even the onion routers are not able to give a clue who you are and where you are now. Tor is the best defender from the traffic analysis. Exactly this form of network surveillance is the greatest threat to user privacy. Therefore, you can easily maintain the confidentiality of your business activity, your relationship with other online visitors.

Download Tor for Linux (x64) (7.0.4): our site or torproject.org

Linux (x32) (7.0.4): our site or torproject.org

Every day traffic analysis is applied by different companies, government, and some people who need to keep track of what sites people visit, for what purpose. For example, it may be used to impose aggressive advertising or to take even more dangerous actions.

By the way, when you use Tor, you always have a choice - if you wish, you can remain anonymous, if not - you can identify yourself.

It’s quite simple to install Tor in Linux - you just need to download the browser and unpack the file. Detailed commands for installation and running of the program on any * nix ОС are listed below.

Extract the package to the desktop

tar -C ~/Desktop -xvJf tor-browser-linux32-4.5_LANG.tar.xz

or (for 64-bit OS)

tar -C ~/Desktop -xvJf tor-browser-linux64-4.5_LANG.tar.xz

Go to the folder with the program

cd tor-browser_LANG

It is possible to start Tor browser on Linux with a double click on the icon of the Tor browser or running the start-tor-browser.desktop from a terminal window:

./start-tor-browser.desktop

After start-up the Mozilla Firefox window will open and browser will connect to the Tor network. Never unpack and do not run Tor Browser Bundle under an account root.

Share

Tor для Linux

Голосов: 921

Tor, как известно, в первую очередь используется для того, чтобы обеспечить анонимность при пользовании Интернетом, обеспечить защиту и безопасность пользователя.

Посредством Tor вы можете не только анонимно путешествовать по сети, а и применять интернет-мессенджеры, IRC, SSH, различные другие программные продукты, которые используют протокол TCP. Также на платформе TCP разработчик может сделать новые приложения. Анонимность и все необходимые элементы для секретности будут в них встроены автоматически. Вы, к тому же, сможете просматривать и те сайты, которые по той или иной причине с недавних пор оказались «закрытыми». Формалисты из «Роскомнадзора», бывает, блокируют отдельные сайты, хотя угрозы они не представляют и содержат, вместе с тем, уйму полезной для посетителя Интернета информации.

Каким образом обеспечивается в Tor анонимность? За счет постоянного изменения соединении внутри распределенной сети серверов. Они называются onion routers. Путь от источника до адресата в случае использования Tor не прямой – он гораздо длиннее, чем при обычном соединении. Причем путь этот совершенно случайный, проходит через несколько серверов, благодаря чему отследить перемещение практически невозможно.

Более того, даже сами onion routers не смогут дать подсказки, кто вы и где в данный момент пребываете. Tor – лучший защитник от анализа трафика.  Именно эта форма сетевого наблюдения является наибольшей угрозой секретности пользователя. Поэтому вы сможете без проблем сохранить конфиденциальность своей бизнес-активности, своих отношений с другими Интернет-посетителями.

Скачать Tor для Linux (x32) (6.5.2): наше зеркало или torproject.org

Linux (x64) (6.5.2): наше зеркало или torproject.org

Анализ трафика ежедневно применяют различные компании, правительства и некоторые лица, которым важно отследить, на какие сайты пользователи заходят, с какими целями. Это может быть нужно, скажем, для того, чтобы навязать агрессивную рекламу или предпринять еще более опасные действия.

Кстати, при использовании Tor у вас всегда есть выбор – если захотите, можете сохранять свою анонимность, если нет – можете себя идентифицировать.

В Linux Tor поставить достаточно просто – нужно просто скачать браузер и распаковать полученный файл. Подбробные команды для установки и запуска программы на любой *nix ОС приведены ниже.

Распаковываем пакет на рабочий стол

tar -C ~/Desktop -xvJf tor-browser-linux32-4.5_LANG.tar.xz

или (для 64-битных ОС)

tar -C ~/Desktop -xvJf tor-browser-linux64-4.5_LANG.tar.xz

Переходим в папку с программой

cd tor-browser_LANG

А запустить Tor браузер на Linux можно, дважды кликнув на иконке Tor браузера либо выполнив файл start-tor-browser.desktop из окна терминала:

./start-tor-browser.desktop

После запуска откроется окно Mozilla Firefox и браузер подключится к сети Tor. Никогда не распаковывайте и не запускайте Tor Browser Bunlde под учетной записью root.

Поделиться